PDA

View Full Version : Single-Handed Ariel

tpalmer
11-25-2003, 09:08 PM
I'm new to sailing and have learned a lot from reading the message board. I need some advice and help for techniques to sail Mariel (# 162) single -handed. What have you learned to help a novice to sail single-handed.

I searched the message board and have already gotten a solution to my first problem: I found that you can manage sails and keep the tiller steady by rigging bungee cords to steady the tiller. I also found a couple devices which work to hold the tiller firm (tiller tender is one, but too pricey for my budget)

Mike Goodwin
11-26-2003, 03:14 AM
Self tailng winches are a must .

tpalmer
11-26-2003, 07:05 AM
Has anyone used Winchers. They're rubber disks that convert a regular winch to a self tailing. If they work, it would honor the "Fun on a budget" creed of the Palmer household and keep the accounting department from sending the dreaded "Not-In-budget" memo.

Bill
11-26-2003, 08:32 AM
Safety is one of the biggest concerns, which also affects gear selection and establishing cockpit sail control. For an introduction, click on the search button and search for "single hand" (partial word). You should get 12 thread hits worth reading.

commanderpete
11-26-2003, 08:35 AM
Welcome aboard.

Singlehanding is a good subject, but a general one. So here's a general answer.

Just do it.

Many people don't singlehand because they're not comfortable doing so. Since they need to line up crew, they don't sail often enough to ever get comfortable.

Since you're willing to do it, everything else is easy.

Docking and sail-handling is mostly a matter of practice and developing routines.

Upgraded equiptment can make sailing easier and more enjoyable. But, if you really hunger to sail, you don't need anything. Everyone strikes their own balance between cost and convenience.