PDA

View Full Version : Commander 93 - Unholey

commander93
04-16-2011, 02:52 PM
Hi Everyone,

I'm the proud new owner of "Unholey" Pearson Commander Hull #93. I picked this up in February with no mast for $800 in Bermuda. I have no experience sailing but went in on it with a long-time sailor so I could learn the ropes. While I'm clueless when it comes to sailing I'm pretty good with my hands so hoping to get this baby in the water soon.

Background to the name - last year it came off its mooring and the transom was used as a battering ram in to the side of the rocks and had a nice big hole in it. After some serious fibreglassing she floated again and became known as Unholey. No without a mast and being Canadian I was thinking No-mast-EH?

I've done some minor stuff to it (refinished some of hte wood) and put some paint on the cabin and cockpit. See before and after pictures.

Now the next step is to do the whole mast replacement with no experience with rigging, this should be fun!

My pictures are apparently too big to post here but I'll figure it out.

Ariel 109
04-17-2011, 04:15 AM
Welcome Unholey!

Bermuda, pretty cool. How did you end up there? How did your boat end up there? Do you hang out with Mike Bloomberg on weekends?

Replacing the mast is going to be a challenge. I'm sure everyone here is interested in trying to help you. What parts of the Commander standing rigging do you have and are going to try and use, sails, boom, etc....?

But first lets see some pictures! You can re-size them free on-line using a service like http://photobucket.com/ .

Ben

ebb
04-17-2011, 07:45 AM
[this was a repeat of the next post]

GOOD LUCK!!!

ebb
04-17-2011, 07:46 AM
Yes,, finding a mast is going to take some luck.
Maybe the same kind of luck ole 93 seems to have in finding the likes of you and your partrner.

I think shipping a mast from the states is out of the question.
So imco you have to search in the islands. There must be plenty of marinas.