PDA

View Full Version : need advice

gabo94
02-07-2006, 03:52 PM
Newbie here and I need some advice. I am going to see an Ariel this Thursday. It is a 1968 model with an asking price of 4,900. Broker says it's in good shape, just needs a little TLC. The pictures look really good but I need to know what to look for and what questions to ask. This will be my first sailboat. Does the price seem reasonable? Thanks for any help.

c_amos
02-07-2006, 04:11 PM
Looks like a nice boat.

There is tons of info on these forums about problems to look for, but very few of them (short of soft spots on the deck) would drive the price down where that price is too high.

Do you have any more info on the boat, a link to an add, or the hull number? It is hard to give good advice just looking at pictures.

I will tell you this, as to the general characteristics of an Ariel......

.... You will do well to find one. :D

Good luck!

Bill
02-07-2006, 04:12 PM
She looks good in the photos. On the Ariel home page there is a "plank" titled "Maintneance Alerts." Check it out. Also, check the decks for soft spots. Blisters are usually not a big problem with these boats.

In 2002 Commander Pete wrote:

I really haven’t heard of any problems particular to the ariel, aside from what is on the website. Of course the boat is getting on 40 years old, and may share some problems common with older boats. The expensive and/or time consuming ones to fix are usually:

springy delaminated deck

brown rigging

old soft sails

worn nonskid

corroded thru hulls/ rudder post

corroded aluminum at foot of mast

leaky deck fittings

humps,depressions or flat spots in the hull from seperated bulkheads

stress cracked gelcoat

The best time to look at a boat is during or just after a rain storm. However, you can usually suspect leaky fittings if they are surrounded with gobs of sealant.